8 Nov 2016

Heritage University Offers Scholarships to Valley’s Brightest Students for Fourth Straight Year

Heritage University Offers Scholarships to Valley’s Brightest Students for Fourth Straight Year

Toppenish, Wash. – Heritage University is offering full-tuition scholarships to the valley’s best and brightest students for a fourth consecutive year.

Heritage University re-opened “HUSoar.com,” a website specifically for students who want to find out more about Heritage and the opportunities it presents. At HUSoar.com, prospective college students can apply for one of six merit-based scholarships. The scholarships are open to all first time Heritage University students, whether high school graduates or transfer students.

 “Having a well-educated workforce is vital to any community’s success, and we at Heritage University are committed to developing the talent we have in the Valley,” said Celestino Limas, VP of Student Affairs & Enrollment at Heritage. “The SOAR Scholarship provides the opportunity for the Valley’s best and brightest to not only achieve a rigorous academic experience but also explore the other co-curricular programs that complement their learning experience at Heritage.”

Winning a full-tuition Soar Scholarship was very exciting for Karina Rodriguez. She’s thrilled for the chance to study computer science while staying home in the Yakima Valley. “I had considered another school with a computer science program similar to Heritage’s, but the Soar Scholarship means I can make a difference right here at home, said Rodriguez.

Soar Scholarship winner Lesly Gomez also considered other schools that offered her scholarships, but staying close to home while earning a degree was important to her. “Thanks to Soar, I get to go to college without having to leave the place I love,” says Gomez. “It makes me feel good because I am close to the people that mean the world to me, my family.”

Going to college at Heritage University is much more than simply taking classes towards a degree; Heritage students get to participate in curriculum that goes beyond the textbook. For example, business administration students win business competitions against the nation’s most elite colleges; education students earn their degrees by doing on-the job training at local schools; and nursing students help with free immunization programs in their communities.

There are two deadlines for this year’s Soar Scholarship. The first deadline is December 1, 2016 by 5:00 p.m. Three scholarships will be awarded on January 3, 2017. All applications will remain in the pool for a second deadline, February 1, 2017 by 5:00 p.m. Three more scholarships will be awarded on March 1, 2017. Applicants should visit HUSoar.com and complete the online Soar Scholarship application, and upload a personal essay and letter of recommendation.

The Soar merit scholarship program began in 2013. The winners to date include Jessica Alvarez, Wapato High School, science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM); Elizabeth Bahe, Eisenhower High School, humanities; Nereyda Barajas, Sunnyside High School, education; Teanna Bentley, East Valley High School, business; Jonathan Peralta, Eisenhower High School, nursing; Mireya Cruz, freshman, Heritage University, biomedical science; Lindsey Keesling, junior, Heritage University, English major; Alessa Bryant, CWU & WWU, biomedical science; Estafania Guerrero, Granger High School, nursing; Kaneeta Jeffrey-Zack, Toppenish High School, nursing; Jiovanna Lamas, Wapato High School, mathematics; Idalis Licea, Zillah High School, nursing; Lisalyn Tormey, Riverside Christian High School, medicine; Anthony Tzib, Prosser High School, visual arts; Cynthia Vargas, Eisenhower High School, elementary education; Maria Villanueva, Davis High School, biochemistry; Valentin Zaragoza, Toppenish High School, PA Program; Brettagne Aleck, Yakama Nation Tribal School, education; Ahtziry Salazar, AC Davis High School, biological sciences; Karina Rodriguez, AC Davis High School, computer science; Lesly Gomez, Eisenhower High School, accounting; Susana Figueroa, Yakima Valley Community College, early childhood studies; and Delaney Helmersen, Columbia Basin College, social work.

Questions about the information contained in this press release should be directed to David Wise, Vice President of University Advancement, Marketing and Communications, 509-865-0717 or wise_d@heritage.edu.


Number of views (4558)      Comments (0)


Leave a comment

Add comment